Home > Select a State > AR About EEA

Contact Information:

Arkansas DEQ
8001 National Drive
PO Box 8913
Little Rock, AR 72219-8913

(501) 682-0744

Or view the Department's

Relevant State

Arkansas Public Service Commission

Arkansas Emissions Regulations

Major Utilities:

Entergy Arkansas, Inc.

Oklahoma Gas and Electric Company

Southwestern Electric Power Company

The Empire District Electric Company

Select Another State


Air Emissions Regulations | Siting Regulations | Regulatory Codes | Standby Rates |


Air Quality Status All areas are in attainment
EPA's Nonattainment Areas
Major Source Threshold PTE 250 tons of any criteria pollutant triggers PSD; 100 tons/year triggers NSR
Minor Source Permitting Exemption See list below
Minor Source Treatment Opacity Limits
Emergency Generating Limits Can be operated for up to 90 days


Units with emissions below the following limits will be considered exempt:

- 40 tons per year of CO
- 25 tons per year of VOCs, SO2, and NOx
- 15 tons per year of PM 2.5
- 10 tons per year of PM 10
- 1/2 ton per year of Pb
- 1 ton per year of HAPs
- 3 tons per year of any combination of HAPs

The following sources are considered to be insignificant but may be required to be listed in a permit application:
- Fuel burning equipment with a design rate less than 10 MMBtu/hr, provided that the aggregate pollutant emissions do not exceed 5 tons per year of any combination of Hazardous Air Pollutants (HAPs) and 10 tons per year of any other pollutant.
- Emergency use generators, boilers, or other fuel burning equipment that are equal to or smaller than the main unit, cannot be used with the main unit, and do not emit pollutants in excess of the main unit can operate for up to 90 days.


A minor source permit is required for units that emit more than the exemption levels listed above. A minor source permit will include emission limits for criteria pollutants and HAPs as well as a fuel use or an operating limit to avoid major source permitting. An opacity limit of 5% for natural gas units and 20% for other units applies. No other limits are likely to be included.

There is a 30-day public comment period for new sources and the whole process (including comment period) takes no more than 3 months.

The department has created general permits for minor sources. However, there is currently no general permit available for electrical generation units. The state will charge around $200 per general permit and it will take about 10 days to receive the permit.


A potential to emit 250 tons or more of any criteria pollutant triggers PSD. A potential to emit 100 tons/year triggers NSR.


Emergency engines are treated the same as other units unless they meet the following limitation:
Emergency use generators, boilers, or other fuel burning equipment that is of equal or smaller capacity than the primary operating unit, cannot be used in conjunction with the primary operating unit, and does not emit or have the potential to emit regulated air pollutants in excess of the primary operating unit and not operated more than 90 days a year do not have to obtain a permit.


The Arkansas Public Service Commission's siting authority is limited to publicly owned utilities. However, potential on-site electrical generation facilities are required to obtain any applicable air, water, or other environmental permits, and must comply with zoning regulations.


The state legislature has adopted statewide building, fire and mechanical codes. They can be viewed by searching the state's Online Statute Database

Arkansas State Fire Marshal

International Code Council State Adoption Information Page

Provides an easy to use US map to locate state and local adoption of the International Code Council's model codes.

US DOE's Office of Building Technology, State and Community Programs, Building Codes Database

The US DOE's database provides a comprehensive look at a state's building code implementation and enforcement process.


Entergy Arkansas

SS Standby Service Rider
Load Size 60 cycle alternating current at a primary distribution line
Basic Charge $368.88
*Note: if customer is taking supplemental service, this charge will be zero
Metering Service $2.50 per kW of Reserved Service Billing Demand
Maintenance Service Demand Charge:

Summer Period: $0.1223 kW/Day

Other Period: $0.1077 kW/Day

Energy Charge:

Summer Period: 1.934 cents/kWh
Other Period: 1.376 cents/kWh
Backup Service Demand Charge:

Summer Period: $0.2741 kW/Day

Other Period: $0.2328 kW/Day

Energy Charge:

Summer Period: 1.934 cents/kWh
Other Period: 1.376 cents/kWh

****Special Note: These are the Standby Rates in effect at the time of the creation of this database. For the most current utility standby rates, click on the utility's name in the box named "Major Utilities" in the upper left-hand corner of this page.